2019 Federal Election held May 18th Results as at 2pm July 11th

House of Representatives 151 seats
The winning party requires 76 seats to form government.

Click Here for the AEC Tally Room Coalition 77 ALP 68 Independents 6 CloseSeats 0

Click Results by division (left hand column) then TCP margin (Two candidate preferred) column heading to view Close Seats.

Click Here for the Australian's Tally Coalition 77 ALP 68 Independents 6 InDoubt 0

Click Here for the ABC's Tally Coalition 77 ALP 68 Independents 6 InDoubt 0

In subsequent developments

*Click here for some background on preferences in the Lower House, allocated when no candidate has more than 50% of the primary vote.

Senate 76 seats
When bills are passed, following any amendments, they require a simple majority. If all senators are present, 39 votes are necessary.

Click here for AEC's Senate count of first preferences by candidate. Ticket Votes refer to votes above the line.
Click here for ABC's status of seats continuing, won this election, and likely to win. Currently 94% counted, no seats in doubt.
Expected Seats LNP 35 ALP 26 Greens 9 One Nation 2 Centre Alliance 2 Conservatives 1 Jackie Lambie 1

Click here for some background on preferences in the Upper House, 2019 was a half-senate election, voting for 6 new senators from each of the six states, and 1 from each of the two territories.

LNP Losses

Corangamite (Victoria Coast Road includes southern suburbs of Geelong). Traditionally LNP, a redistribution by the AEC in 2018 made it notionally an ALP seat. Won by ALP (Libby Croker) with 51% of the vote.

Dunkley (Frankston in south-east Melbourne). Similar to Corangamite, traditionally LNP, a redistribution by the AEC in 2018 made it notionally an ALP seat. Won by ALP (Peta Murphy) with 52% of the vote.

Gilmore (NSW south coast beaches Shoalhaven, Batemans Bay, Jervis Bay). LNP appointed Warren Mundine, a former ALP President to be the LNP candidate, over the local branch's selection. Won by ALP (Fiona Philips) with 53% of the vote.

Warringah (Manly Dee Why, North Shore beaches of Sydney). Held by Tony Abbott for 25 years. Won by Zali Steggall as an independent, 45 years old and a former Olympic skier, with 57% of the vote. Has told her electorate she would guarantee ** government supply (approve day to day business bills) to the LNP.

Bob Katter has again won his seat of Kennedy as another independent in far north Qld, and would probably also support the LNP before the ALP.
Other independents are Clark (Hobart) held by Andrew Wilkie, Mayo (East and South of Adelaide) held by Rebekha Sharkie, Indi (NorthEast Victoria-Wodonga Wangaratta) held by Helen Haines, and the Greens Division of Melbourne held by Adam Bandt.

LNP Wins

Herbert (Townsville). Won by LNP (Philip Thompson) with 58% of vote.

Lindsay (Penrith, and Sydney outer-west suburbs). Won by LNP (Melissa McIntosh) with 55% of vote.

Braddon (Western Tasmania). Won by LNP (Gavin Pearce - a beef farmer) with 53% of vote.

Longman (Caboolture). Won by LNP (Terry Young) with 53% of vote.

Wentworth (Bondi, Darling Point Sydney). Won by LNP (Dave Sharma) with 52% of the vote.

Bass (Launceston Tasmania). Won by LNP (Bridget Archer) with 50.4% of vote.


Chisholm (Box Hill and Waverley in east suburbs of Melbourne). Won by LNP (Gladys Liu) with 50.8% of the vote.
Gladys Liu is a prominent member in Melbourne's ethnic Chinese community. The seat had been earlier won in 2016's election (from the ALP who had held it for 28 years) by Julia Banks, to give the LNP a slender one seat majority in Malcolm Turnbull's parliament. Gladys apparently played a significant role in that win.
Julia later announced she would not contest the 2019 election for the LNP after Malcolm Turnbull was replaced as Prime Minister. She resigned from the Liberal Party and ran as an independent in Flinders (Mornington Peninsula Melbourne), unsuccessfully as it turned out, against Health Minister Greg Hunt.

Some further notes regarding Parliament changes 2016 - 2019

At the 2016 elections there were 150 seats. LNP won 76 seats, ALP won 69 seats, Independents won 5 (Bob Katter, Andrew Wilkie, Rebekha Sharkie-Nick Xenophon's Team, Cathy McGowan at Indi, and Adam Bandt for the Greens).
Tony Smith was nominated as Speaker (from the seat of Casey on the very eastern edge of Melbourne-Yarra Junction) leaving LNP with 75 seats (a majority of one).

On 24 August 2018, Malcolm Turnbull lost the leadership of the LNP and resigned on 31 August 2018. On 20 October 2018, Wentworth was lost to independent Kerryn Phelps, and LNP lost its majority having just 74 seats in the parliament apart from the speaker, 69 ALP and now 6 independents.

On 31st August 2017, the following redistribution changes had been announced by the AEC for implementation at the 2019 election.

  1. Bean is a new seat in 2019 (southern ACT) with no sitting member. It was won by David Smith (ALP).
  2. Fraser is another new seat in 2019 (western Melbourne) with no sitting member. Won by Daniel Mulino (ALP).
  3. Port Adelaide was abolished as a separate seat due to its declining population (it had been held by previous ALP President Mark Butler. Incidentally, Mark's position of ALP President was taken by Wayne Swan on 18 June 2018). Port Adelaide then became part of Hindmarsh and Hindmarsh was won by Mark Butler in 2019.
    Steve Georganas (the previous member for Hindmarsh) contested and won the seat of Adelaide in 2019, and Kate Ellis, who was the member for Adelaide, retired.


* Lower House Preference Allocations according to the AEC
First, all of the number '1' votes are counted for each candidate. If a candidate gets more than half the total first preference votes, that candidate will be elected.
If no candidate has more than half of the votes, the candidate with the fewest votes is excluded. This candidate's votes are transferred to the other candidates according to the second preferences of voters on the ballot papers for the excluded candidate. If still no candidate has more than half the votes, the candidate who now has the fewest votes is excluded and the votes are transferred according to the next preference shown. This process continues until one candidate has more than half the total number of formal votes and is elected.

** In the 1975 Australian constitutional crisis, the elected Senate delayed voting on a bill to authorize supply for the government until the Prime Minister, Gough Whitlam, called an election for the House of Representatives. Whitlam was dismissed by the Governor-General, Sir John Kerr, on the basis of his refusal to either resign or request a dissolution.

** End of list